Off day in The Hague

07 april 2019

FC Utrecht lose 5-0.

An off day. That’s how you could describe the match against ADO Den Haag yesterday (Sunday). Utrecht faced a 3-0 deficit at half time and were unable to turn things round in the second. The team returned home empty handed from a 5-0 defeat.

The Cars Jeans Stadium was still cheering when Utrecht were preparing to kick off again. ADO Den Haag had just gone 2-0 ahead from a goal by Aaron Meijers. Utrecht restarted the match but quickly lost possession. ADO Den Haag steamed forwards with three men towards David Jensen’s goal. A pass from left to right ended precisely at Danny Bakker’s feet. The mid-fielder calmly tapped home the 3-0.

It wasn’t Utrecht’s evening. Passes were cut out, shots ended on the wrong side of the post or on an opponent’s back and crosses failed to reach their target. No matter what Utrecht tried, they couldn’t score. In contrast to ADO Den Haag, who managed to convert nearly every chance they had.

Utrecht were not entirely chanceless. They came close to scoring several times in the first half. Their first threat came from Sander van de Streek. The Utrecht midfielder let loose at Robert Zwinkels’ goal after 15 minutes but the shot landed in his hands. A little later Gyrano Kerk broke down the right flank but his attempt ended a few centimetres wide of the post.

Lex Immers, the veteran ADO Den Haag midfielder, took care of the final score line, heading home the 5-0 in the closing minutes. It was his second goal of the evening. He had also opened the score when the ball landed at his feet from a scramble in front of goal.

Utrecht are in action against Vitesse next Sunday. The match kicks off in the Galgenwaard at 16.45. Tickets are available via the Internet and in the FC Utrecht Fanshop.

ADO Den Haag – FC Utrecht 5-0 (3-0)

11. Lex Immers 1-0
36. Aaron Meijers 2-0
37. Danny Bakker 3-0
83. Tomas Necid 4-0
90. Lex Immers 5-0

Yellow cards: Gyrano Kerk (FC Utrecht)

Red cards: -

Attendance: 13,222

Referee: Allard Lindhout

ADO Den Haag line-up:
Robert Zwinkels; Dion Malone, Tom Beugelsdijk, Shaquille Pinas, Aaron Meijers; Nasser El Khayati, Danny Bakker (77. Tomas Necid), John Goossens; Sheraldo Becker (71. Thijmen Goppel), Lex Immers, Erik Falkenburg (63. Melvyn Lorenzen)

FC Utrecht line-up:
David Jensen; Sean Klaiber, Timo Letschert (45. Mark van der Maarel), Willem Janssen, Nicolas Gavory (66. Leon Guwara); Riechedly Bazoer, Joris van Overeem, Simon Gustafson; Gyrano Kerk, Sander van de Streek, Othmane Boussaid (45. Michiel Kramer)