FC Utrecht played against Eredivisie’s number 6 AZ in Stadium Galgenwaard on Saturday evening.
Despite an early AZ goal, FC Utrecht beat the Alkmaarders 2-1. 

It was tough. The football was not good, there was no sharpness and FC Utrecht could not manage to score. But then, in the 37th minute Gyrano Kerk steamed up on the left wing. The striker crossed the ball, that passed goalkeeper Marco Bizot and who was there for the tip in? Urby Emanuelson! And from out of nowhere the Domstedelingen equalised: 1-1.

Opening goal
A good start is half the work, although, that is wat they say. But that was not the case in this game. In the second minute FC Utrecht looked at a backlog already. Striker Bjørn Johnsen got the ball and tipped it behind David Jensen. The AZ supporters cheered, but that stopped when the linesman flagged for offside. There was confusion when Blom went to the sideline to look at the situation again on the VAR screen. After seeing the video footage the referee approved the goal and FC Utrecht looked against a backlog early in the game.

Van Rhijn
‘I really hope they are going to score again’, is what a supporter said in the 86st minute. ‘Those are the best wins!’ And he is right. Rightback Sean Klaiber gave a low cross from the right. The ball ended up at Ricardo van Rhijn, who worked the ball into his own goal: 2-1! Stadium Galgenwaard exploded. Again, after the 2-1 win at NAC Breda, the three points stay in Utrecht

Willem II
Next week head coach Dick Advocaat’s team will play an away game against Willem II in Tilburg. The game starts Sunday at 14.30 in Koning Willem II stadium. Tickets are available HERE.
FC Utrecht - AZ 2-1 (1-1)
2. Bjørn Johnsen 0-1
37. Urby Emanuelson 1-1
87. Ricardo van Rhijn o.g. 2-1
Yellow cards: Fredrik Midtsjø (AZ), Urby Emanuelson (FC Utrecht), Thomas Ouwejan (AZ)

Attendance: 18,294
Referee: Kevin Blom
Line-up FC Utrecht:
David Jensen, Sean Klaiber, Willem Janssen, Timo Letschert, Leon Guwara (84. Mark van der Maarel); Joris van Overeem, Simon Gustafson, Nicolas Gavory; Gyrano Kerk, Oussama Tannane (72. Sander van de Streek), Urby Emanuelson (84. Lukas Görtler)
Line-up AZ:
Marco Bizot; Jonas Svensson, Ricardo van Rhijn (90. Dorin Rotariu), Pantelis Hatzidiakos, Thomas Ouwejan; Teun Koopmeiners, Fredrik Midtsjø, Guus Til; Oussama Idrissi, Bjørn Johnsen, Albert Gudmundsson (81. Mats Seuntjens)