FC Utrecht won their last Eredivisie match of season 2017/2018. One goal was enough for trainer/coach Jean-Paul de Jong’s team to beat VVV-Venlo: 1-0.

It was an afternoon for watching. Watching the pitch in the Galgenwaard of course, but also the smartphone for the latest scores from Friesland, Limburg, North Holland and North Brabant. Utrecht were in an envious position. The big question was not “Will we qualify for the Europa League play-offs?” but “Who will we meet in the play-offs?”.

Mission accomplished
In the meantime, Utrecht had a job to do. Playing in their new home shirts for the first time, Utrecht were too strong for Venlo, who failed to win for the 13th game in succession, but they weren’t too upset about it. VVV avoided relegation and secured their place in the Eredivisie: mission accomplished.

Another mission accomplished
Utrecht also accomplished their mission on Sunday 6 May. A victory was the aim, winning is what the team do best. Mateusz Klich’s goal in the middle of the second half was the only thing to get past keeper Delano van Crooij all afternoon. Klich shot Utrecht to three points: 1-0.

Top five for three years in a row
Thanks to the victory over VVV, Utrecht ended the season in fifth place in the Eredivisie. Utrecht thus matched the club record by finishing in the top five for three seasons in a row. The last time it achieved this feat was in the period 1979-1982.

And now for the play-offs!
For FC Utrecht, the Europa League play-offs begin mid-week, when De Jong’s team face sc Heerenveen. The first leg is on Wednesday 9 May in Friesland, the return in the Galgenwaard is on Saturday 12 May. Both matches kick off at 20.45.

FC Utrecht - VVV-Venlo 1-0 (0-0)
71. Mateusz Klich 1-0

Yellow cards: Mark van der Maarel, Mateusz Klich (both FC Utrecht) and Jerold Promes.

Attendance: 19,669.

Referee: Martin Pérez.

FC Utrecht line-up:
David Jensen; Sean Klaiber, Dario Dumic, Willem Janssen (75. Ramon Leeuwin), Mark van der Maarel; Anouar Kali, Mateusz Klich, Yassin Ayoub (83. Lukas Görtler), Sander van de Streek (46. Urby Emanuelson); Gyrano Kerk, Cyriel Dessers.

VVV-Venlo line-up:
Delano van Crooij; Tristan Dekker (70. Jens Janse), Nils Röseler, Jerold Promes (46. Roel Janssen, 82. Torino Hunte), Leroy Labylle; Ralf Seuntjens, Moreno Rutten, Clint Leemans; Romeo Castelen, Lennart Thy, Vito van Crooij.