Utrecht took a point in the last home game of 2017. The home team led 1-0 for almost a hour against Heracles Almelo, but the team from Almelo equalized just before the final whistle: 1-1.

It goes too far to say that it was raining chances for FC Utrecht, but the team did have more than one opportunity to score the second goal. Sander van de Streek was close a few times and so were Zakaria Labyad and Urby Emanuelson. Emanuelson saw his firing shot go over. 

Labyad serves Ayoub
And thus FC Utrecht failed to give the final blow in the last home game of the record year 2017. They did give the first blow though. After half an hour FC Utrecht were allowed a free kick near the corner flag. Labyad took the free kick and Yassin Ayoub scored with a header: 1-0.

Three points within reach
After the goal the situation was that FC Utrecht now and then created a nice chance and the possibilities for Heracles Almelo were scarce. Goalkeeper Nick Marsman, who started because David Jensen had just became father of his daughter Felina, did not have much to do. The three points seemed within reach.

Gladon strikes
But Paul Gladon ruined it for FC Utrecht. The striker, who substituted Kristoffer Peterson five minutes before the end of the game, scored in the extra time. He turned away and shot the ball in the far corner: 1-1.

On to Breda!
The last game for FC Utrecht in 2017? That is NAC-Breda away. Trainer/coach Erik ten Hag’s team will visit the Rat Verlegh stadium on Saturday. Tickets are for sale in the FC Utrecht fanshop and online.

FC Utrecht - Heracles Almelo 1-1 (1-0)
34. Yassin Ayoub 1-0
90+2. Paul Gladon 1-1

Yellow cards: Urby Emanuelson (FC Utrecht), Roland Baas (Heracles Almelo) .

Attendance: 16,859.

Referee: Siemen Mulder.

Line-up FC Utrecht:
Nick Marsman; Mark van der Maarel, Ramon Leeuwin, Willem Janssen, Urby Emanuelson; Rico Strieder, Sean Klaiber, Yassin Ayoub, Sander van de Streek; Gyrano Kerk (82. Cyriel Dessers), Zakaria Labyad.

Line-up Heracles Almelo:
Bram Castro; Tim Breukers, Wout Droste, Dries Wuytens, Roland Baas; Joey Pelupessy, Reuven Niemeijer (69. Brahim Darri), Jamiro Monteiro (84. Sebastian Jakubiak); Brandley Kuwas, Vincent Vermeij, Kristoffer Peterson (84. Paul Gladon).