FC Utrecht won a point in the away match against Vitesse. Utrecht went ahead in the GelreDome thanks to a goal by Cyriel Dessers midway through the second half, but they didn’t enjoy the lead for long. Substitute Mason Mount decided the final score: 1-1.

It was Utrecht’s very first shot on goal. And it was cause for celebration midway through the second half. Zakaria Labyad sliced the ball and it ended up at the feet of Gyrano Kerk, who tried to surprise Vitesse keeper Remko Pasveer with a back heel. Pasveer really was caught off guard when Cyriel Dessers got his foot to the ball. Keeper beaten, ball in the net: 1-0 for FC Utrecht.

The thousandth
Dessers’ goal gained him a place in the GelreDome’s history books. The Belgian striker scored the 1,000th Eredivisie goal in the Arnhem, sport, theatre and music temple. An interesting fact and a valuable one if it meant three points.

Mount equalises
But Dessers’ goal wasn’t the last one. Seven minutes after the 489 travelling Utrecht supporters had celebrated the Belgian’s goal, trainer/coach Erik ten Hag’s team were on the receiving end. A cross from Thomas Bruns reached substitute Mason Mount, and he chalked up the 1-1 with his first touch of the ball.

No pain
The 2017/2018 edition of Vitesse - FC Utrecht was a game in which neither side could really hurt the other and come out as deserved winners. Utrecht had just one shot on goal and took full advantage of it; Vitesse were slightly more dangerous and had four shots on target, but were clearly less efficient.

Time for international football
There are no games in the Eredivisie next week. It’s time for international football again. The top league in the Netherlands resumes again on Saturday 14 November. Utrecht will be in action against sc Heerenveen in the Galgenwaard.

Vitesse - FC Utrecht 1-1 (0-0)
69. Cyriel Dessers 0-1
76. Mason Mount 1-1

Yellow cards: Alexander Büttner, Guram Kashia (Vitesse), Zakaria Labyad, Robin van der Meer (FC Utrecht).

Attendance: 15,432.

Referee: Björn Kuipers.

Vitesse line-up:
Remko Pasveer; Fantaky Dabo, Guram Kashia, Matt Miazga, Alexander Büttner; Thulani Serero, Navarone Foor (90+1. Charlie Colkett), Thomas Bruns; Milot Rashica, Tim Matavz (66. Luc Castaignos), Bryan Linssen (74. Mason Mount).

FC Utrecht line-up:
David Jensen; Sean Klaiber, Dario Dumić, Willem Janssen, Robin van der Meer (83. Mark van der Maarel); Rico Strieder (64. Urby Emanuelson), Sander van de Streek (83. Matty Willock), Yassin Ayoub, Zakaria Labyad; Gyrano Kerk, Cyriel Dessers.